Charnell Lucich

Ubuntu getting Xorg.conf GUI

Posted on: August 18, 2007

An update a few days ago states that users are now able to access a graphical user interface for editing xorg.conf (though only for graphic and display settings). This tool also has dual monitor support. You can turn one monitor on or off, or both, change the available resolutions, orientations, and set mirror or extended desktops.

Part of Ubuntu 7.10’s Bullet Proof X blueprint that states in a general sense, that if X fails to start for whatever reason, then it will fall back to a failsafe mode with this GUI running to help get going again.

There is certainly room for improvement with X as 7.3 releases, but whether this will make it into Ubuntu 7.10 in time is unknown. Feature freeze is now in effect; it was broken for an X update in the past.

I’ll be keeping an eye on this as I’m not an Ubuntu user, but becoming a little more interested with each update that I’m seeing. Regardless, I don’t think I’ll ever let Debian go, but that’s another story.

1 Response to "Ubuntu getting Xorg.conf GUI"

I use Ubuntu quite a bit, but i’m experiencing quite a few memory leaks (I keep the system monitor applet in the top panel and see it slowly eating up my swap)…however in my debian etch installation, I don’t experience it.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Charnell Lucich on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

