Charnell Lucich

What Was Gizmodo Thinking at CES?

Posted on: January 10, 2008

I’ve read about what’s happening at CES here and there, listening to the cool and not-so cool events, presentations, and gadgets. Today, I stumbled across this. I wonder what was going through their mind when they came up with the bright idea to pull such a stunt.

There are times when I’ve become quite annoyed with a television, but when you venture out into the public, there are just some things that you have to put up with. I have the option to go home if I don’t like it. Don’t get me wrong, the little gadget that was used by Gizmodo (TV-B-Gone) is pretty cool but to use it in the manner that they did was really uncalled for and extremely unprofessional.

According to Gizmodo, “they couldn’t help it”. WHAT?

“we pretty much couldn’t help ourselves. We shut off a TV. And then another. And then a wall of TVs. And we just couldn’t stop. (And Panasonic, you’re so lucky that 150-incher didn’t have an active IR port.) It was too much fun, but watching this video, we realize it probably made some people’s jobs harder, and I don’t agree with that (Especially Motorola). We’re sorry.”

To Gizmodo’s credit, at least they posted a public apology. But is that enough?

2 Responses to "What Was Gizmodo Thinking at CES?"

I am sorry, but the kid inside of me would have probably done the same thing! 😉

Somehow, I think that an adult would (read: should) have more common sense than that. Really…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Charnell Lucich on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

