Charnell Lucich

Cambridge Who’s Who and Me

Posted on: June 24, 2008

Yesterday after I got home from work I engaged in my normal routine of fighting to get into my driveway, loading up my arms/shoulders with random crap I carry daily back and forth (laptop, jacket, paperwork, etc), and doing my best to keep my balance while walking to go check the mail at the end of the driveway.

Nothing out of the ordinary, credit card bills, spam, and an envelope that I assumed was just more spam. I proceed to go through the mail and opened what I thought to be spam from a company called Cambridge Who’s Who


Enclosed was a letter that read:

Dear Charnell,

It is my pleasure to inform you that you are being considered for inclusion into the 2008/2009 Cambridge Who’s Who Among Executive and Professional Women “Honors Edition” of the Registry.

The 2008/2009 edition of the Registry will include biographies of our country’s most accomplished women. Recognition of this kind is an honor and shared by thousands of executive and professional women throughout America each year. Inclusion is considered by many as the single highest mark of achievement.

Upon final confirmation, you will be listed among thousands of accomplished women in the Cambridge Who’s Who Registry.

http://www.cambridgewhoswho.com/MainSite/AboutUs/

http://www.cambridgewhoswho.com/MainSite/AboutUs/MissionStatement.aspx

http://pressreleases.cambridgewhoswho.com/

http://www.cambridgewhoswho.com/MainSite/AboutUs/TheCompany.aspx

Who is Cambridge Publishing?
Cambridge Publishing is the fastest-growing publisher of executive, professional and entrepreneur biographies in the world today. Our accomplished members and extensive online database make Cambridge Who’s Who Registry among Executives, Professionals and Entrepreneurs a premier resource for networking. The Cambridge Who’s Who Registry is published in three formats: hardcover, CD-ROM and online.

How is an individual selected for candidacy?
The Cambridge Who’s Who Marketing and Research Department looks for accomplished individuals who would benefit most from our networking resources. These are people who we feel are on a path to future success either because of their past accomplishments, status in their field or their credentials. We use a variety of resources to identify Cambridge Who’s Who candidates. Individuals who are affiliated with professional associations and societies, attend core events within their field or subscribe to certain periodicals are ideal candidates, as they have sought enrichment within their career fields and participate in activities that extend beyond the workplace. These are the executives, professionals and entrepreneurs who we actively seek out and select as candidates for the Cambridge Who’s Who Registry.

In addition, the 250,000 active members of Cambridge Who’s Who among Executives, Professionals and Entrepreneurs have the ability to nominate peers, colleagues, mentors and associates for Cambridge Who’s Who membership. Nominating others is a privilege reserved exclusively for our members.

Who nominated me?
Unless we indicate that you were nominated by a Cambridge Who’s Who member, you were not nominated, but selected by our Marketing and Research Department.
(I was selected by the Marketing and Research Department!!)

So, I’m pretty excited to see how this all turns out!

8 Responses to "Cambridge Who’s Who and Me"

Congrats to you on your recent accomplishment. I’m sure things will turn out great for you.

Jen Thomas
Glyphius Software

I recently nominated you for the Sheboygan Wisconsin Who’s Who 🙂

Congrats

Thank you Chris!! 🙂

Do your research, it’s a pretty big scam.

Hi Jesse. Thanks for the heads up. 🙂

I just got one of these letters, and was wondering what you had learned with yours. Is it a scam like I’m seeing elsewhere on the web, or a legit business? I’m pretty leery of things like this, and found your blog while trying to research it. Please let me know what you found out in dealing with them.

Thanks!

Hi Shana. I didn’t hear anything for a while (months) and all of a sudden someone started calling from this company as of the last couple of weeks. I’ve done a lot of research and I’m just not seeing anything positive. Most of what I’m finding is this company just ends up asking for money, and quite a bit of it. I’ve just decided that it’s be I leave it alone.

If you end up taking them up on this, be sure to post back and let me and other readers know how it goes.

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Charnell Lucich on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

