Charnell Lucich

Sunday Rambling with Some Flip Chart & Art

Posted on: September 7, 2008

This weekend has probably been one of the most relaxing weekends I’ve had in ages. I’m sure much of it has to do with being sick, but hey it worked well for me. I’ve realized this weekend that I need to just slow down. Relax. Enjoy life. I’ve missed so much in life by doing the 9-5 thing (necessity of course) and after 5, constantly running errands or rushing around the house trying to do the cooking and laundry. Weekends? Never really knew what those things were. Hell, I’ve always heard people talking about this weekend-thing but just never got it as my weekends were spent…well…working, running errands, catching up on laundry, cleaning, cooking, screaming at my kids, you know, the typical mom-stuff. My life for the past several years has consisted of working (this includes the 9-5 + mom-thing) from around 5am – 1or2am. After this weekend, I have no idea how I’ve been able to do it for so long. I’m sure many of you out there can relate hey? What? We’re out of milk? You need new shoes? I have to bake how many cupcakes for your class TOMORROW, why didn’t you tell me this sooner – it’s 9pm. Oh and you need stuff for an Art project due tomorrow too?? This is where I think I’m going to race the clock and win.

I regret taking my weekends for granted. Using these two days out of the week that I get, where I just don’t have to do a damn thing if I don’t want to. I have done absolutely nothing this weekend. NADA. And it felt fantastic. I went out to the San Antonio Raceway Friday night with Kevin and that was pretty much it. I stayed home all day yesterday and didn’t do anything! Nothing! Well, I cooked dinner – and a fabulous one at that!

So, here it is Sunday and I no longer look or feel like this or this as I’m in the healing phase now and I’m sure my family feels like their lives can be restored, back to normal and I have turned back into the ATM mother that they know and love. I woke up this morning and cooked breakfast. Something I haven’t done in ages. Corned beef hash, scrambled eggs, tortillas, with apple juice. After breakfast, I cleaned up the kitchen, my daughter helps dry them and put the dishes away and I’m back to a clean kitchen. I made a pot of coffee. Something I haven’t done in ages. Typically the first thing I do when I wake up EVERY morning is run to StarBucks.

I actually found myself making a comment aloud to my cat “Rex” in the kitchen earlier today while baking Swedish bread rolls.

It’s funny how the oven seems to work when the kitchen is clean.

Rex just lays down with a quiet meow and waits for me to finish. He knows the routine. So I wait for him to look back up at me and I continue while sipping my coffee.

You know Rex, the oven never seems to work during the week. I miss the open space of a clean and uncluttered kitchen. I enjoy cooking, baking, and feeding the family good home-cooked meals. You know they’re much more healthy than eating out right?

Rex rolls his eyes, lets out another meow only this time a little bit longer with different tones as if he’s trying to hold this conversation with me and tell me, “yes, I know. I enjoy it too.” He always gets table snacks.

//kevinblalock.com

Image of Rex taken by Kevin at http://kevinblalock.com

Then it dawned on me and I look down at Rex and blurt out – “Oh my God! So this is how it works Rex!”

This time he quickly lets me know he’s not in the mood, rolls his eyes, let’s out a grunt, and walks into the bedroom. Needless to say, I could get used to this.

I got bored for a brief moment today but quickly snapped myself out of it by chatting for a bit on Twitter with some newfound friends. While chatting, someone posted a link to a hilarious YouTube video by Demitri Martin called Flip Chart and Art. I needed this laugh. I need to learn how to laugh more often while slowing down my life, enjoying it, and not taking it so seriously. At my age, I’d rather slow down on my own and enjoy life and all of it’s offerings instead of being forced to due to …. my old age.

I will be traveling to Las Vegas in a couple of weeks to attend Blog World & New Media Expo (we’ll have a booth there – #411 so be sure to stop by and say hi!), but I will make certain that I enjoy my time outside of the event too while trying not to break the bank. *smile*

1 Response to "Sunday Rambling with Some Flip Chart & Art"

[…] { if (vbc) vbc.style.visibility = ‘hidden’; e.style.backgroundColor = ‘#fff’ }); }); Sunday Rambling with Some F… trackback from post […This weekend has probably been one of the most relaxing weekends I’ve had […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Charnell Lucich on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

