Charnell Lucich

PuTTy SSH

Posted on: October 5, 2008

I find myself surprised from time to time when people ask me how to transfer files via SSH. I always suggest PuTTy.I prefer scp myself. PuTTY is a free implementation of Telnet and SSH for Win32 and Unix platforms, along with an XTerm terminal emulator. It is written and maintained primarily by Simon Tatham.

One you have it installed:

1. Open PuTTY.

2. Connect to your server:

# ssh username@IPAddressHere

Log in as your Primary User, enter your password when prompted for a password.

3. Once you are logged in, you should see this:

[username@hostname username] $

4. Su to root:

# su –

Type in the root password when prompted for a password.

5. If you su’ed successfully, your prompt should look like this now:

[root@hostname root] #

If you have any questions related to PuTTy, head on over to the PuTTy FAQ.

Interested in a GUI for managing and running ssh and related utilities? Check out SecPanel.

2 Responses to "PuTTy SSH"

I’d also like to toss out a recommendation for FileZilla – their SFTP support is great. PSCP is good and all, but if I’m in windows, I might as well go with something I can drag and drop into 😉

Thanks Ender! Any recommendations for the public are always welcome!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Charnell Lucich on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

