Charnell Lucich

Ada Lovelace Day – Celebrating Women In Technology

Posted on: March 24, 2009

In my world today it’s hard to take notice of everything that’s taking place around me and I often miss quite a bit news or the little things that someone says or does. My world is fast-paced, always on the move, and there just isn’t enough hours in my days to do everything that I’d like to. Sound familiar? I’m sure that I speak for just about every woman who is a mother, a grandmother, a working mother, wife, significant other out there.

Just a few moments ago, the women in PEER 1  received an e-mail from the Vice-President of Human Resources, Tricia Hollyer. I had to re-read her e-mail a few times – not because I didn’t understand it the first time, but to really appreciate what she said to each of us women. Our company is dominantly male and well, let’s face it, tech today is a male-dominated industry.

I’d like to forward on her e-mail and celebrate all women in technology today. Hats off to you all for paving your way in this industry!

From:     Tricia Hollyer
Subject:     Ada Lovelace Day – Celebrating women in technology
Date:     March 24, 2009 10:53:45 AM CDT

Tuesday, March 24th is a day to celebrate the wonderful women in technology, of which you are one!

Check out these links for more information: http://www.pledgebank.com/AdaLovelaceDay http://findingada.com/

Send a message, post a tweet, blog about a woman you know who rocks in tech!

Everyone on this email counts to me, so here’s to all of us for making our way in a male-dominated industry and making PEER 1 a better place to work. I hope I’ve managed to get everyone woman at PEER 1, but if I’ve missed someone, please let me know and/or forward this on.

I realize we don’t all work in technical roles, but we are all a part of what makes PEER 1 successful. If you want to know more about the tech side of what we do, ask Elleni – Lead DC Tech in Atlanta, or Jennifer – Developer in San Antonio, or Jackie – Technical Account Manager in Atlanta, or Marisa – IT Administrator in San Antonio, or any one of the smart women who work for us.

And here’s to our Recruiting Team’s goal for 2009 – at least one woman in every team at PEER 1. There are too few of us at PEER 1, but we’re working on fixing that.

Well done, ladies. We rock! I count myself lucky to work with an amazing group of women like you.

Tricia Hollyer
Vice-President, Human Resources

I admire women in tech period. Today, I admire and thank Tricia for acknowledging the women in our company today. Thank you Tricia!

1 Response to "Ada Lovelace Day – Celebrating Women In Technology"

Very cool! Hats off to you and all the women in tech out there!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Charnell Lucich on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

